Chicken Soup for the Desperate

I hate colds.  The sniffling, the sneezing, the “just-shoot-me-now-and-put-me-out-of-my-misery” head pressure.   I feel (and look) like I should be the “before” picture in a commercial for sinus medication!

Most of all, I hate the coughing.  So of course, I have been working on bringing up a lung for the last three weeks.  I don’t sleep.  The hubby doesn’t sleep.  It’s been so bad that the pets won’t sleep with us.  The cats give me the “you’re interfering with my 15 hours of beauty sleep” look.  You know you’re making annoying noises when even the dog gets up and leaves the room.   I have tried hot tea, cold tea, hot lemon water, wine, and peppermint schnapps.  It didn’t help.  Well, OK, the schnapps helped a little, just not with the cough!  (Did I mention that I hate coughing?)

So what’s a gal to do, but make a pot of chicken soup and call it good?   Crank up the air conditioning and enjoy the comfort of this soul-satisfying soup!

Easiest Chicken Soup Ever

  • Olive oil
  • 2 large yellow onions, cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 1/2 bag of peeled baby carrots or 3 cups of peeled, chunked carrots
  • 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into large chunks
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • 1 cup good red wine
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • ground black pepper to taste

Cut the onions into one inch chunks.  In the bottom of a heavy-duty stock pot, saute the onion in 2 tbsp olive oil until the onions are translucent.  Add half a bag of peeled baby carrots, or three cups of fresh, peeled carrot cut into chunks.  Cut the boneless, skinless chicken into large chunks, and toss it in with the onions and carrots.  Saute the meat and veggies until they begin to caramelize (just turn a bit brown).  The key to this is not to stir it too often.   When the chicken and veggies are browned, sprinkle them with 2 tbspns of flour and stir to coat.  Add 2 quarts of chicken broth, 1 cup of good red wine, 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and ground black pepper to taste.   Stir, making sure to scrape up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan, bring to a boil, turn the heat down to medium, and cook for 20 minutes.   Stir, turn heat down to low, and simmer for 1 hour.  Taste, adjust seasonings, and simmer for another hour.  Serve with bread and a salad.

And lots of peppermint schnapps.  (Did I mention that I REALLY hate coughing?)

Here’s something to keep you busy while the soup is cooking:  The Chicken Dance!!

Today’s Mystery:  Why do cats always get hairballs?  At midnight?  On the bed?

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

If you like what you see here, please share it with others by clicking on one of these buttons from Get Social!

Leave a comment